Clean Smarter, Not Harder!

One of the hardest things that I have encountered being diagnosed with Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy 2J is how rapidly my body has lost mobility. It is extremely painful, not to mention difficult to walk, bend over, stand up from a seated position, stand for a length of time and the list goes on. I became frustrated the more helpless I became. I hated asking for help and I am impatient. When I want/need something done around the house, I want it done quickly & my way. So it was either wait on someone else to do a task for me or figure out how to accomplish it myself! I found some “tools” that are really helpful & I am really excited to gain a little bit of my independence back!

This steam mop has been one of the best investments I have made in a long time. It leaves my floors sanitized and clean without a lot of hassle. No cleaners are needed at all. Just add water, plug it in and push it around. It use to be hard on my muscles to constantly ring out a mop or switch mop water. This is so easy to use and it honestly leaves my floors cleaner than when I use to use regular mops or even the ready mops. No slipper grime or residue left behind. It’s simple and clean!

My next purchase was a dust pan with a handle. It is extremely hard for me to bend over and then stand up right because I have lost strength in my core and back muscles. So when I got this dust pan, I was excited because I would be able to sweep without having any issues! My daughters thought I was a little too over excited, but my husband thought it was a neat trick!

This is my most used cleaning tool! I constantly drop things and my daughters tend to leave things laying around. This Grip’n Grab helps me pick up without having to bend over. I made sure to get a grabber with great reviews and a wire cable vs a string. This is a super helpful tool to help me around the house!

My next purchase is going to be a laundry basket with wheels. I will update this post when I select the one that works best for me!

Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy 2J may take away many things that are out of my control, but I will fight to keep my independence as long as I can! I am constantly facing new obstacles, but I am determined to figure out a way around them. I just have to make adjustments to my new way of life. I hope this post helps others facing similar struggles! 

Published by

limbgirdlemama

I am a 32 year old mama & wife! After a long journey of seeking answers, I was recently diagnosed with Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy 2J. My life is changing every day. I believe knowledge is power, so I am determined to learn as much as possible about my debilitating disease. Living a "normal" life with LGMD2J is a constant struggle, but I will overcome my bad days and keep faith that I will overcome obstacles. I am a strong woman even if my muscles say otherwise!💚💙

4 thoughts on “Clean Smarter, Not Harder!”

  1. I love my swiffer because it just glides and my shower chair. I also put bar stools around the house, in the bathroom so i can quick sit and it is easy to get off of. My doctor swore I had limb girdle MD but I only had one genetic variant and he said I needed 2. After the biopsy it showed I had central core disease but he says my pain and slow decline is more like LGMD. It is kind of a waiting game to see what happens and how fast. Oh i also have a blow dryer stand that i can’t live without!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

